My Experience of Using the Leica SL (Typ 601)

This is my take on the Leica SL, the new world it created within the Leica ecosystem, how I used it and why I left it behind.

Moritz Philip Recke
11 min readJun 12, 2020

The Leica SL (Typ 601) is a 24 megapixel full-frame mirrorless interchangeable-lens camera introduced by Leica in October 2015. It is a L-mount camera that natively supports both SL and TL lenses from Leica as well as any L-mount lenses from other vendors of the L-Mount Alliance (Leica, Sigma, Panasonic). Also, it supports literally all Leica lenses ever made through use of adapters for M-Mount, R-Mount, S-Mount and even Leica CINE lenses. More importantly, it is Leica’s first full-frame mirrorless system with autofocus and promoted as a weather sealed camera system for professional applications.

As in late 2019, Leica introduced its successor, the Leica SL2, with some significant but two folded improvements (5-axis image stabilisation, higher resolution of 47 megapixels, up to 5.5EV of compensation, improved viewfinder, improved grip, USB Type C connector etc.), I thought it was time to write up my reflections on using the Leica SL (Typ 601).

A New World

--

--